Use these guides to get the most out of your library experience, improve your research skills, use library resources to their full research potential and more.
Using Library Resources | Writing, Citing and more | Databases and More
Using Library Resources:
OneSearch allows you to search RRC Library's print collection (books and journals), DVDs, Databases (articles and more) and media collection (DVDs, streaming media, etc.) all at the same time. This guide will give you an introduction to everything you need to know about accessing this collection through this powerful tool.
- RefWorks - Reference Management *NEW!*
RefWorks online software simplifies the process of research, collaboration, data organization, and writing by providing an easy-to-use tool for citation, bibliography, and reference management. Learn how to build a collection of references (and accompanying PDFs), share of folders and integrate with Word and Google Docs (Write-N-Cite).
- Find Physical Materials in the library
Want to know a bit more about the types of materials we have in the library and how to find them? You've come to the right place!
- Access Online Library Materials
Trying to access any of Red River College’s online resources through the library web page will usually require you to login to the network. This is something students and staff of the college can do with their college username and password.
- Journal Search
Red River College subscribes to a large number of journals, including eJournals. Ejournals are journals and magazines that are displayed and viewed online. Staff and students can access these materials through their college account. These ejournals are in addition to the physical or print titles we carry in our libraries.
- Video Resources
This guide will show you everything you need to know about accessing our video databases, streaming resources and more. (published by AVServices)
- Check your online Library account
From your account, you can see all the items you have borrowed, when they are due and even renew them online. you can also save items and save searches in your account.
- Request Physical Materials
Are you a student at NDC and the book you want is located at EDC? or vice versa? Learn how you can have a book brought to your campus for pickup.
- Inter-Library Loan
Red River College Libraries has an agreement with other Libraries within the country to share our resources. This means RRC students and staff have access to books and articles in all those collections. Fill out the online form for requesting materials, available here.
RRC Libraries has an extensive collections of ebooks allowing students from all campuses (including regional ones) to access our collection via the internet. This guide will give you an introduction to everything you need to know about accessing this collection.
Use Permalinks to link to Library resources in LEARN, email and other web-based applications.
Writing, Citing and more:
- Study for Academic Success
This guide is to assist you in making the best of your study time and preparing for your coursework.
- Write College Papers
This guide is meant to help you along the path of academic writing. Learn the ins and outs of essay structure and the dos and don'ts of writing college papers.
- Evaluate websites and online resources
There is an endless supply of information to be found online, but determining what information is accurate and credible is sometimes difficult. Knowing how to effectively evaluate information found on the web is imperative for credibility; this will ensure your assignments use accurate, current, and relevant information. This guide is to assist you in ensuring you are web sources are giving you accurate information.
Red River College subscribes to many different databases, each with its own specific focus and tools. A-Z Databases allows you to search this collection to find the database that's right for you. See all our databases at A-Z Database List.
Here is some help in using our featured databases:
- Acadoodle (database instruction)
ACADOODLE is an online, interactive education platform, it contains over 150 video modules covering three main topics: Electrocardiogram (ECG), Arterial Blood Gas (ABG), Electrolytes.
- ASHRAE Standard Documents (database instruction)
Red River College has obtained access to ASHRAE Standard documents via Techstreet. These documents are available to RRC Students and Staff through our proxy server.
- Conference Board of Canada e-Library (database instruction)
The Conference Board of Canada e-Library is an authoritative source of research on the Canadian economy and business-related topics.
eCPS (database instruction)
This guide will help you use the eCPS database to access a variety of documents and tools.
Financial Performance Data (database instruction)
Financial Performance Data is a user-friendly interface that lets us selectively retrieve and display data from Statistics Canada's Small Business Profiles series. The source of the data is corporate income tax returns for about 1.8 million Canadian companies.
- Global Road Warrior (Database Instruction)
Global Road Warrior is an extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide
- Knovel (database instruction)
This database will help you find reference material, data, graphs, and more relating to various engineering topics.
Get the apps to help you succeed! All Library Recommended Apps
Here is some help in using our featured apps:
- Visible Body (App guidelines)
This guide will assist you using "Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology", a visually stunning, step-by-step introduction to each human body system from Wolters Kluwer.
- EBSCOhost Mobile (App guidelines)
The EBSCOhost mobile app is made for the smaller screens of mobile devices, and offers the most important EBSCOhost features and functionality right in the palm of your hand, providing the same user-friendly and easy-to-use search experience that is available.