Skip to main content

OneSearch: Home

OneSearch

OneSearch is the name of the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) which searches the print material and audio/visual resources owned by the Library.  It also searches the thousands of Ebscohost ebooks and ejournals to which the Library has access. 

The benefit of Onesearch is finding everything, regardless of the format, which is relevant to your needs.  Of course, should you want to search the resources individually, such as the Library catalogue for print books, or a subject specific database for articles, you can choose to do that. 

OneSearch covers:

  • The Library’s physical collection of books, dvds, journals, reference books, etc.
  • The Ebscohost databases including Academic Search, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Vocational Studies Premiere, etc.
  • Other databases RRC Library subscribes to including ACM Digital Library, ASTM Compass, Choice Reviews Online, Cochrane Library, JOVE Science Education Database, IEEE Xplore, Knovel, Marketline Advantage, MEDLINE/PUBMED, Million Dollar Database, Science Direct and more.
  • Free online databases including ERIC

Useful Tips for Searching

  • Use an * for words with variant endings, e.g., nurs*, engine*, etc. to expand your search and retrieve more results.
  • Use quotation marks for exact phrases, e.g. “vocational education”
  • Use parentheses with Boolean OR/AND operators, e.g. (aboriginal or “first nations” or native or indigenous) and (Winnipeg or Manitoba or Canada)

Search Limiters

OneSearch is set to only retrieve full-text results or those accessible through the Library.  You can make your searches narrower by using limiters such as:

  • Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals – publications which contain articles reviewed by a panel of experts in the field.
  • Date – limit only to those sources published in the last 1, 5 or ten years, for example.
  • Location – limit only to the Library’s print books or videos, or only to ebooks, etc.
  • Subject – limit to results that have your search word(s) as a subject descriptor.

Results

The result list includes the total number of items found in the database and:

  • Title, author, date published.
  • Source (journal or publication name and the database of origin).
  • Subjects assigned to the item
  • Full-text format or a link out to the full-text if available elsewhere.
  • A folder to store items during the current session to print, email or save before exiting.

Full Record View

The full record includes the bibliographic data found on the results screen and also the:

  • Print, email or save buttons.
  • Cite button which produces a bibliographic citation in multiple formats.
  • Permalink button which gives a permanent URL to the record which you can save or share.
  • A folder to store items during the current session to print, email or save before exiting.

Account

You can create your own account within OneSearch to save searches and search results.  Ask the Library Information Desk staff and we will show you how. 

Reference Technician

Lynn Gibson's picture
Lynn Gibson
Contact:
Red River College Library
2055 Notre Dame Avenue
Winnipeg, MB
204-632-2301